Barista Championship

The World Barista Championship is a global coffee-making competition. Competitors from around the world compete in a series of challenges to demonstrate their skills in preparing and serving specialty coffee. The competition includes a 15-minute performance where competitors prepare and serve espressos, milk beverages, and signature drinks to a panel of judges. The judges evaluate the competitors based on criteria such as taste, presentation, technique, and overall impression. The winner of the competition is awarded the title of World Barista Champion and is recognized as a leading expert in the field of specialty coffee.

Canadian Barista Championship Structure

Canadian Barista Championships Structure:

updated June 4th, 2014

Baristas have 15 minutes to make 4 espresso, 4 cappuccino and 4 signature drinks. They must  also give a presentation to judges while preparing drinks and keep their station immaculately clean.  

Baristas will be evaluated on many factors including taste, technique, professionalism, knowledge of coffee and passion.

There are four regions: Western, Prairies, Central, and Eastern.

Top four finishers from each region qualify for the National Championships. If any of the top four finishers from a region cannot make it to Nationals, the 5th and 6th place finishers from that region will fill open spots in the priority of their finish.
The Canadian Champion will compete at the upcoming World Barista Championship. Please visit

Leave a Reply